Knight mountaineer vs knight LRH .52cal

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigshow

Reaction score
Hello to all. I'm new to this thread. I'm looking in getting a new Knight rifle. I will be shooting the blackhorn 209 and bloodline bullets. I'm looking at the Knight mountaineer, the disc extreme, and the long range hunter all in .52 cal.. the Knight long range hunter is on sale right now. I have held all 3 and like the feel of them all. Just looking for thoughts. I thank yall for the help in advance.

I can't speak to the Mountaneer but I have several rifles built on the Disc platform. Knight has always been known for quality with Green Mountain barrels and high end stocks. The laminate stocks are beautiful in my mind.

The bolt action MZ has pros and cons. I like to move the charge out from under my chin and the added length is not an issue for me. I also like the fact that I can break down and clean every part of the gun. This may annoy some who want a quick vs thorough cleaning routine.

The LRH is a big gun which would be fine if most of your hunting is done from the stand. The Extreme has been my hunting gun of choice these past few years. I find the platform to be extremely accurate with some load development.

I hope that helps.

I can't imagine you not being happy with the Mountaineer, quality all around. Not a thing wrong with the 52 cal except possibly availability of bullets and sabots. I'm sure if you sniff around you can find them. It's just something to consider.

For deer hunting I've drifted to the 45 cal the past few years. I like the 2200+ FPS.

Seems to me having to feed a 52 caliber could end up being a pain. Myself, i once owned a Mountaineer, and it felt good to shoulder, but i never took it hunting, because it was long and heavy. Currently i own an Extreme. Have you considered an Ultra-Light..