Help selecting a mzzleloader

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lechwe

Reaction score
OK guys could use some help again. I need to get my 13 year old a muzzleloader so we can both hunt. I've been using the same Knight Disc for 18 years so I haven't kept up with them for a while. I need advice on a good gun to get him. I would love to just get him a new disc extreme but just don't have that kind of money to spend tight now. Whatever I get him I'll set it up to shoot BH209 so please keep that in mind. I still want the best I can get him but $600 for the gun alone isn't going to work right now.

thanks

Darrell

The TC impact is a good gun to start with an adjustable stock. It would last him a lifetime.

Agreed. I love mine. Usually under $250 out the door; sometimes even with a scope.

Emrah

Is there anything special that needs to be done to it to use BH209? I know with my disc I had to change the breach plug.

thanks guys

We just got my dad a Cva Wolf, stainless barrel black stock with scope for $219 @ Dicks sporting today. Quick release breach and 24" barrel.

There are many good guns for a young man. As for shooting BlackHorn 209.. the CVA Wolf and Optima would be low cost and a good solid shooting system. The T/C Impact is another. I had to get a different breech plug for my Optima to consistently shoot BH209 but once I had that, its been a great shooter.

The TC impact will shoot bh209 just fine with stock plug, cva needs one bought seperate I believe

What's your budget?
There are several good guns reasonably priced in the classifieds. The disc is a nice gun, I'm sure you could find a very nice one used if you look around a bit.

first off I must say I really like tc muzzle loaders I just bought a pro hunter came last week
but wife wont let me play with it till xmas. lol