What has happened?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

52Bore

Reaction score
Recent post made me think of where this topic turned, just last winter - what has happened to following the manufactures recommendations.

Postby halloflin » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:29 pm

OK...Let me weigh in here. I have learned a lot in this thread that I didn't know and the chart showing cost is excellent and a great tool. But 52bore, put yourself in my shoes for a minute. I think that all of us realize that you were presenting us this chart to show cost per shot and that is what you have done. Frankly I have come close to locking this thread two times because of the personal comments and derogatory remarks but once I posted about this it calmed down so I let it ride.

As the owner of this site one of my major concerns is safety for the complete novice and someone, that might not even join the forum, looking at the very first post, which is your chart, and assuming, without actually reading the warnings on the Blackhorn site regarding their recommendation to not exceed 84grains by weight, might conclude that they can use, by volume, 85/90/95/100, etc. You guys are seasoned, experienced ML enthusiast and know your guns limitations. But I would not want to read about someone getting seriously hurt NOR be liable for misread information.

So...I respectfully ask that you edit your very first post with a BOLD statement just above the charts that this information is strictly for Cost Per Shot analysis and not to be misunderstood for recommended load by volume measurements (I can do it for you if you like but wanted to appeal to you first).

Thanks for understanding and for supplying some excellent information!

Hal