New muzzleloader bullet question

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nodoz

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm brand new to muzzleloading and have been trying to do some research on what would be the best bullet/pellet setup for my gun. I bought a TC bone collector. It seems everywhere I read people have different opinions on what to get. Maybe if I make a thread someone can help me. What I'm looking for is the most accurate round that will take down any whitetail. Thanks for any help in advance.

You will get alot of answers, as personal preference and hunting situations vary tremendously. To me, accuracy is very important, but equally if not more - is terminal performance.

I am using several different bullets... Speer Deep Curls (which are hard to find now) Lehigh/Bloodline's, and SST's. There are actually a ton of really good bullets that shoot accurately and perform well ... "what is the best" is often in the eye of the beholder. Search Ron Laughlins bullet test threads, tons of great info.

You could start out with the old standby XTP, and branch out from there. Good reliable accuracy and performance, and won't break the bank while you are learning about ML'ing. Welcome to the board :D

WV Hunter said:
You will get alot of answers, as personal preference and hunting situations vary tremendously. To me, accuracy is very important, but equally if not more - is terminal performance.

I am using several different bullets... Speer Deep Curls (which are hard to find now) Lehigh/Bloodline's, and SST's. There are actually a ton of really good bullets that shoot accurately and perform well ... "what is the best" is often in the eye of the beholder. Search Ron Laughlins bullet test threads, tons of great info.