Future Knight owner, few questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kraig

Reaction score
Hey guys, new guy here. Plan on taking Knight up on their 20% off offer, most likely buying a shadow grey thumbhole Mountaineer, unless someone can talk me into a different one?

I have a few questions though.

You can probably tell im not an expert on muzzleloading, which is half the reason I joined this forum, I really want to get into muzzleloading. Anyway, I'd like to use BH209 since I've heard almost all good things about it. (Currently using T7 pellets on CVA Optima that I actually just sold). I've never used BH209. So learning to measure it will be my next lesson. Can I use BH209 on the Mountaineer right out of the box? And should i opt for the Full Plastic Jacket option or just bare 209?

I was using Barnes T-EZ 250 grain with my just sold Optima, but I have almost a full package left. Are these good to shoot with the Knight?

One more question.. I read a lot of guys mention sabot-"less", what exactly are these and what are the advantages?

Thanks guys!!

Simple accurate load.
Blackhorn powder 100 gr by volume measure consistently wether u tap volume measure full or simply fill to top. Do it the same.
Barnes250 or 290 tez
Winchester209 primer regular primer not triple seven primers.

Bare primer ignition system.

Get a quality scope and mounts.

Hoppes 9 cleaner and 2 1/2" round patches.

5/32 drill bit for cleaner flame channel and torch tip cleaner for guaging flash hole and cleaning flash hole.

I suggest one damp patch and 2-3 dry patches between shots.

Let cool between shots at range.

You want a very snug sabot fit so if blue sabot not tight enuf try harvester black crush rib or red crush rib.

Sabotless is a whole different deal and typically needs a fast twist 1-20 twist or 1-18 twist 45 and a bit of a learning curve.