First time out with my Cooper ML

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TommyBehindTheDeuce

Reaction score
New to muzzleloaders but not to shooting. I reload and have a custom 30-06 and enjoy precision shooting out at the range - no competitions but I compete against myself and like trying to find the best accuracy I can. Only been chasing small groups for a few years and I am no expert. I say all of that just to give some background and context for my experiences today. I have a Cooper schnabel with a NF NXS 2.5x10.

I recently moved to Nashville and joined a range here. I don't have any friends that shoot ML's, and oneof the instructors there has been shooting ML for years and years so I signed up for some private time with him for my first time out. He shoots matches out at 1000 with center fire rifles and was very knowledgeable. Wanted to make sure I know the right procedures and info to throw a bunch of gunpowder in a barrel and ram a bullet on top of it.

We spent about 4 hours out there, with the first just talking about various aspects of it. We loaded up some Nosler BT 300 grains with 80gr by weight 209 using CCi magnum primers and started to get it sighted in. Was a good chance for me to watch what he is doing and how he is doing it. The first 2 shots were off the paper so we went to steel at 100. Third shot was on the steel but we needed to repaint it to see shots better. Cleaned the gun at this point. Two shots gave us a good idea where we were and he handed it to me to shoot the next on paper. We were about 1/2 right with that shot. Cleaned it again.