Questions about shooting an inline

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerbrewer

Reaction score
I'm not new to muzzleloading but I am new to the in-lines muzzle loaders and to this site. I just purchased a new 50 Cal TC Strike inline muzzle loader from Field and Stream. They had the gun marked down $100 off list and then I got an additional $90 off for getting their credit card taking a survey. Then n top of all that there was a $50 rebate from TC! I had been looking at the gun for some time and when I saw the price I bought it. I'm not sure what type of powder or sabots/bullets to use in the gun. I've been hunting with my 54 Cal (Patch Round Ball) Lyman Great Plains percussion rifle for years, but I finally got tired of the misfires. This past hunting season I had a big Doe in my sights and I pulled the trigger only to hear "click". The gun misfired, I re-cocked it but it was too late. Otherwise the gun is very accurate, but it misfires just too much (1 out of 10 shots). I've been having this issue for on and off for years. The issue was not with the powder, it was that the caps didn't go off and it had nothing to do with the weather. I changed brands of caps and tried different nipples and nothing helped, so I decided to buy an inline Muzzleloader that I could put a scope on.

Now for my inline questions.
1. It seems that most people are using Pyrodex or triple seven or buckhorn power. Does anyone still us real Black Powder? I found that worked best in my Lyman and I was planning to use it in the Strike because I have a ton. Is that an issue?