Knight disc elite and blackhorn powder

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I skunked you

Reaction score
I got a knight disc rifle that uses red plastic jackets and was wondering if this is alright to use. Been using 777 and works great but leaves crud ring after each shot.
Is blackhorn clean burning and leave little residue after shooting. Thanks

I have the same question as I have one of the old BK85's that has the conversion kit to 209 primer. It takes the red plastic caps that holds the 209 primers. I had deep sixed two of these rifles in a corner when I started shooting my encore years ago and more recently my T/C strike.

The Elite can shoot blackhorn fine with either the red fpj primers or bare primer setup.

The MK/LK/BK (plunger type) guns are not recommended to use BH209 in them.

If you want less crud in either of those guns you could use Pyrodex or Real Black also.

BH209 will work in the Elite and FPJs but you need to be very diligent about keeping the flash channel clean of carbon with a drill bit. Swap to the bare 209 primer conversion and its far more forgiving. The bare primer flash channel is 5/32" and seals better. Setup correctly a bare primer conversion is nearly blowback free and the flash channel will stay even cleaner.

Blackhorn209 leaves absolutely no crud ring. You can load many shots without swabbing. Many find that you still get excellent accuracy without swabbing at all. BH209 fouling is almost slick to me. Seems like the follow up loaded easier than it did on a squeaky clean barrel.

I tried BH209 with the red FPJ, I hated them, blow back that I could feel on my face. I replaced that system with the bare primer plug, not the current Knight version, zero blow back.