Knights new finish

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

a1smokepole

Reaction score
I was looking on there sight and they have new finish for there gun barrels nitride finish or stainless
look in the muzzleloader gallery to see.

knight-ultra-lite-nitride-rifle-green-209-primer-mul704ng.jpg

Huh, so woudda thunk? :huh?:

Now it will be the best thing since Al Gore invented the internet! :mrgreen:

Will T/C follow suit? Stop the painting, and start treating?

a1smokepole said:
I was looking on there sight and they have new finish for there gun barrels nitride finish or stainless
look in the muzzleloader gallery to see.

I have several parts that have been Nitrate and I really like them. The finish is extremely durable... and wow! does it clean easy as well as protect.

This is a Nitrate treated bolt that I have been using for 3 years now... It shows no sign of wear and tear...

NECG.jpg

Black nitride coating
A black nitride surface is very corrosion resistant, it doesn't corrode underneath as chroming or rust through as parkerizing does and is very durable. It is NOT black paint or a surface coating.

This link will provide information about the hardening process - using the Nitrate system...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nitriding

Interesting, and nice to have the option if you wanted it. Not sure that it matters a whole lot from a corrosion standpoint... the stainless on Knights is outstanding if you take even semi proper care of it.

I think they should nitride the bolt too. :yeah:

I must be old school I just like plain stainless better but the bolt does look good.

The nitride finish just might seal the deal for me buying another muzzleloader.
Is everything nitride treated, bolt, firing pin ect? Anyone know if the all of the steel parts in the trigger group are treated?

Cattledog said: