Finally joined the bandwagon. a few 700ml Questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bowhunter32

Reaction score
Today I purchased a stainless .54 cal 700ml with a 209 conversion for 250$. Correct me if I'm wrong but the only 2 other parts needed are the bp and barrel. I am also going to replace the trigger and stock. I'm a DIYer and I'm cheap. When it comes to gunsmithing I'm a newb but I'm mechanically inclined. I plan to shoot sabotless.

I am leaning towards the McGowan as someone stated it isn't necessary for a sizing die. Is this true?

I know I need a stock for a 700 adl sa. I am eyeing up a laminated Boyd stock as I find them appealing for the price. I have never before, but can (with google's help) pillar and bed the barrel. Comments or concerns on this? Are there any stocks that would be a drop in for any of the available barrels (McGowan preferably)?

Also, I'm pretty set on a 45 cal. has anyone here done one in a 50? was just thinking for if I were to use it out west I could use it with bh209.

Thanks ahead of time for any and all advice!

besides the McGowan barrel.. but the reason I'm leaning towards that is the possibility of not having to purchase a sizing die..

As said arrowhead has all the pieces/parts that you will need.