Black MZ....and patches.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DakotaElkSlayer

Reaction score
Before I bought my first pound of BLACK MZ, I emailed Alliant asking about it. Their rep told me to use DRY PATCHES. He said that the first round I could lube the patch, but after that to load with dry patches since the powder "lubes" during the shot and something about the powder not liking moisture.
To the folks shooting Black MZ, are you doing this, or just running lubed patches? We have been doing this with all our muzzleloaders, and works well, but... The youngster is having a tough time loading his .50 muzzleloader...some work to seat the ball, so much work he can't do it. Suggestions? Thinner patch? Lube the patch for easier loading?

Jim

I have no experience with Black MZ powder, but when i hear dry patch it brings back an old NOT so great memory LOL! The first time i ever shot a Muzzleloader in my life, I knew nothing about swabbing between shots etc. I knew how to load and shoot the rifle safely. I tried to swab the fowling with a dry patch, i BARELY got away with it 1 time, the next time i tried i had to drive home with a stuck ramrod in the rifle LOL! I stil look back on that and laugh!

The Black MZ powder is interesting, are you using a 209 primer to set it off? Here in Idaho we can NOT use a 209 on a Muzzleloader only hunt. I use Swiss 2 and 3F powder, and #11 CCI Magnum or RWS 1075 Plus (10-3/4) German Caps. I have about given up on the RWS Caps though, they are ridiculously expensive around here! I recently bought a 1000 #11 CCI Magnums, they seem to be right on par with the RWS for Hot, and at half the price of the RWS in the few places I frequent here.