tc hawken 50cal flintlock

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
ANYBODY OUT THERE HAVE ANY THOUGHTS TO SHARE ON BULLET SELECTION FOR TC HAWKEN 50CAL FLINTLOCK . I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR WHAT YOUR EXPERIENCES ARE IN THIS MATTER. GUY

I take it it’s a stock TC Barrel? If so the Twist rate should be 1:48 which is suited for either Patched Round Ball, or a TC Maxi Ball, You could also try the Lyman Plains bullet, they have a little more bearing surface than the TC Maxi ball, but will load very similar to the Maxi, The Lyman Plains is by far my favorite of the 2 bullets. I have very little experience with patched round ball so I can’t give any suggestions there as to ball diameter, patch thickness etc. from what i read most guys use a .490 Ball, and patch thickness is determined by how your rifle shoots each. Hornady makes a new type of bullet called a PA conical for .50 Cal and weighs 240 Grains, i have no experience with them, but they sure look interesting for a stock twist barrel. Hornady also makes a bullet called the Great Plains and they can be bought in stores, and online, they weigh in at 385 Grains for the .50 Cal and are a cupped base hollow point design, i tried them in my Lyman Great Plains Hunter 1:32 twist .54 Cal and they shot good. I personally am not a fan of a hollow point type pure lead bullet in a Muzzleloader though. Another option is the Lee R.E.A.L. Bullet, that one is available in mold form to pour your own, most folks that shoot them seem to be happy.