Help!!! Barrel cleaning stained tub

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wally

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to muzzleoading and just started sighting mine in. Long story short, got a patch/jag stuck yesterday and after research telling me warm water and a little soak got it out. Tried again today with a different jag that had less contact with the bore, same result.

So my uncle saw me shooting and asked for some help installing a toilet just as this happens, so I go to the house,pull off my barrel and soak it in the tub while we do the install. Got the patch out, but now the tub has brown stains on it that aren't scrubbing out. Does anyone know how to lift the stain or what chemicals are in the powder residue that I can research how to neutralize? I only used soapy water before and a slightly oiled patch, followed by a dry one, so it's not cleaner or solvent that did it

Wally85 said:
Hey guys, I'm new to muzzleoading and just started sighting mine in. Long story short, got a patch/jag stuck yesterday and after research telling me warm water and a little soak got it out. Tried again today with a different jag that had less contact with the bore, same result.

So my uncle saw me shooting and asked for some help installing a toilet just as this happens, so I go to the house,pull off my barrel and soak it in the tub while we do the install. Got the patch out, but now the tub has brown stains on it that aren't scrubbing out. Does anyone know how to lift the stain or what chemicals are in the powder residue that I can research how to neutralize? I only used soapy water before and a slightly oiled patch, followed by a dry one, so it's not cleaner or solvent that did it

I have a couple of videos for you to watch. This first one is cleaning in the field. I am just guessing your not cleaning at the range.

https://youtu.be/ibU-5uCuy_I