Fun hobby

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrTom

Reaction score
For giggles I make my own jigs and soft plastic baits. The jigs I've been making for about 50 years, the plastics about 7. Here's one I did up to post on another site for a 4th of July chuckle that I call Firecracker Shad. The belly and lateral line colors are hand poured and the firecracker glitter color is injected to make the basic bait. I added the eyes and brushed on a nice throat patch using rose hi lite powder, then gave the bait a clear coat to seal up things.

jY2Os3V.jpg

That looks awesome! I agree it would make a good crappie pattern although it looks like it might catch our wipers also.

I'm primarily an angler but I love my black powder guns and shooting them. I take my deer season each year just to hunt black powder and have taken deer with kit type sidelocks, in-line bolts, break action in-lines and even my Optima pistol. But I do love my crappie and walleye fishing.

The bait shown is a 4" bait and has a fairly bulky head section. It does a great job on walleye and sauger. Its 2 3/4" cousin is better for targeting crappies. I have perhaps 20 different styles and sizes of bait molds ranging in size from 1" ice fishing baits to walleye sized baits in the size range of the one shown.

I don't make to sell much anymore but I do enjoy making baits that appeal to the eye and enjoy working with people who have decided to enter into this area of tackle crafting and are somewhere in the learning curve.

Here's another good plastic bait. This one, in the color combo shown, was a super good spring bait this year on the Mississippi for walleyes and sauger.

yEguNr1.jpg

In the mold this one measures spot on at 4" but runs out closer to 5.5" on the retrieve. A lighter jighead makes this guy dance pretty.