Sabot Fast Loader

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kjeremy2

Reaction score
i recently acquired a cva optima v2, im a newbie to muzzle loading but i went to my local gun shop and they told me to try the hornady SST Speed Sabot, with the 777 pellets. they also said to try 2 pellets at first but looking at the sabot if i put 2 on the tail of the sabots the tail is longer than the 2 pellets and enough room for 3, so if i were to just use the 2 do i have to cut the tails off so the pellet sits on the breach,, thank you in advance i'm going to sight it in Saturday and was wondering before i got to the range thanks in advance.

Im aware of those sabots but i fail to see how it speeds up anything. That hole in the pellet is to help with flame propagation through the pellet. Blocking it seems counter productive.

Get powder tubes. Drop the bullet with sabot in first followed by your pellets. Now you have a speed loader and you wont be paying $1.50 per shot for your sabot/bullet.

GM54-120 said:
Im aware of those sabots but i fail to see how it speeds up anything. That hole in the pellet is to help with flame propagation through the pellet. Blocking it seems counter productive.

Get powder tubes. Drop the bullet with sabot in first followed by your pellets. Now you have a speed loader and you wont be paying $1.50 per shot for your sabot/bullet.

Thank you, so I should look for something like the powerbelt bullets without the tail correct?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Those "Speed" sabots would need the tail cut off. Those are more or less a gimmic. I did not think they made them anymore.

Powerbelts are not used by many here. They are way too expensive for what you are getting and are made by CVA so they push them.