Best methods of Field dress, and getting feral hogs ready for processing

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willie14228

Reaction score
Black Powder I'm new at Hog Kills I'm not so thought I might share what we do in east Texas
Feral Hogs around here eat a lot of acorns and corn the question always pops up what does it taste like
fact is it depends on the area the hogs are living. But in this area they have a slight nutty flavor
Feral hogs have much less fat content in the meat and proper cooking is essential of course as with any game and pork it must be cooked completely but don't over cook gets very dry and even will have a bad odor if overly cooked.
when I process my own sausage I like to mix a bag of ends and pieces or a good fatty pork shoulder from the store.
first order of business when you shoot a hog slit it's throte and bleed it.... Woops First order make sure it's DEAD!!! please please please if your never hunted Feral hogs be Aware they can be extremely dangerous. I saw a guys dog gutted from stem to stern by a hog in a blink of an eye.
it's hot even in winter it is usually 45 50 degrees most of the time around here so it's important to gut it and get ice in the cavity ASAP. Always skin wild hogs never try boil baths for hair removal to many parisites
I have a big 4 foot long ice chest I don't hog hunt with out it. When I quarter them out I cover in ice and spread salt over the ice I like to open the drain valve and just keep adding ice and salt for two to four days.
Another key is avoid cutting bone when possible the marrow from the bone gets in the meat and gives it a game flavor.