New to Muzzleloading

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dodpilot

Reaction score
Folks,

I've been handloading metallic rifle and handgun cartridges for 25+ years. Just bought my first muzzloader (an inline, I think) today, used, a Traditions BuckSkinner .50 cal 1:20 twist, 21-inch barrel, for $150 out the door. Seemed like too good a deal to pass on, as it's in mint condition. Question: Do load manuals exist for this industry? I've been watching lots of YouTube videos, but can't find, even via Google, how many grains of what powder to put behind what weight bullet. Any vectors here would be appreciated. v/r -- CS

Yes New Rifles come with a Manual but most often a used rifle don't. There is not really a published load manual like for CF.

Are you sure it is a Buckskinner?

A Google search shows that is a sidelock not an inline, and having a 1 in 48 twist. IF it is a buckskinner you can use the sidelock manual from Traditions.

https://www.traditionsfirearms.com/data ... 335832.pdf

If it is a Buck Stalker, then that is an inline. is a 1 in 28 twist and most listed as 24"

https://www.traditionsfirearms.com/data ... 674455.pdf

Both can shoot 777 2F or 3F or Pyrodex RS Or real Black powder. Need to know which it is and then you may move the post to the Sidelock or the Inline forums for better visibility.

Thx for the reply. The right side of the barrel is engraved with "Traditions, Buckskinner, .50 cal, 1:20, Made in Spain"

It's a left-handed rifle (i.e. cocking piece is on left side). It uses either a No. 9 or No. 11 percussion cap. It doesn't break open. Barrel length is 21" end to end.

That's about all I know about it.

Does this mean it's an inline or sidelock?