10ML-II Bedding Job -- A Pictorial History

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HokieHunter

Reaction score
I finally wrapped up the bedding job on the new 10ML-II laminate. I documented every step with photos, as I thought some of you may be interested. It's my second bedding job, and, frankly, neither one has been that difficult. I'm no pro, but we'll see how she shoots!

I'll post the most useful photos with explanations as replies to this message -- all in this thread. Let me know if you have any questions, and I'd love to hear your critiques; I'm always looking to learn something new.

Working Area

WorkArea.jpg

Here's my working area. I used my Caldwell lead sled as a working platform for the stock, and it made all the difference in the world. I elected to go with Marine-Tex Grey as the bedding compound. It's widely used for this purpose, and you can find it at any marine store.

Step #1

BondingHoles.jpg

I tried to remove about 1/16" from the entire receiver channel, from the recoil lug recess back to the rear pillar. There is no way that I can see that you could bed aft of the rear pillar on this gun, and I'm not sure what good it would do anyway. After removing the wood with coarse sandpaper and a dremel, I drilled holes about 1/8" deep everywhere bedding compound was going to go.

Actually, I needed to remove a little more wood than I did, as I only got about 1/32" out in some places. Near the rear pillar, I left a little too much wood, so the bedding compound is a little thin back there. I don't think it's going to make any difference, however.

I also took this opportunity to remove wood from the barrel channel to properly float the barrel, as it was definitely NOT floated from the factory. This was a little painstaking, but I'm sure it will be well worth the effort.

Step #2

ClayatTang.jpg