.308 vs. 30.06?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Does the stock fit you? The LOP has to be pretty close or you'll be fighting the rifle. If it's too short and the buttstock isn't fully planted in your shoulder pocket, that's going to amplify the recoil impulses. Muzzle breaks will reduce recoil without reducing the ballistic performance. Most sportsmen don't like how they look, so they won't use them. The factory trigger can usually be carefully stoned to make it nicer.

Actually the stock fits me very well. I am a small to medium frame guy and I can shoulder it well.

I am new to larger caliber rifles and free float barrels. Right now I've just been breaking in the rifle and trying to get a hang of it. Soon I'll try posting some five shot groups.

For the moment I am using factory ammo. Eventually I may try reloading. I am saving all my brass. Since it is bolt action it makes it easier to save from the "range vultures". People are picking off brass as you shoot.

I went with 30.06 and the recoil is very acceptable when I have a good grip. When I do reload I'm interested in the reduced recoil rounds.

I think reloading would be fun but it's another endless pit of money that needs to be spent. I'll probably end up having to get a chronograph too.