45/40 saboted

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redear

Reaction score
Just wanted to start a new thread seeing as we got into the saboted stuff on the bear creek thread. I am new to this in a sml 45 cal scout conversion. I have both types of 4198 powder and the His ignition system with the large magnum rifle primer. I may order some fury bullets too. I see he has the regular crimped nose 40 cal in 225 and 250gr. and he has the ballistic tipped in a 250 which is a 2p model which I think means it has a thinner jacket. I may very well take a 250 yd shot one day as I only hunt crop fields etc. I like the value of fury's crimp nosed bullets.

Just asking..... but why even consider a bullet requiring a sabot?
I believe I've shot every 45cal Fury bullet, even testing some that were never marketed. I can assure you, you won't have a problem with any of them at 250yds when going bullet to bore smokeless.