45 super disc scope recommendation

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scotts98rt

Reaction score
Was thinking about putting a 3×9×40 on it, maybe a leupold CDS or sabr. Reticle I have no experience with either. Any recommendations?

I prefer 2 X 7 X 44 FOR HUNTING the large objective and lower power give better vision at dawn and dusk. For my custom barreled 45 I have a 4 X 15 X44 for long range target. It all depends on what you wish to do with it.

Shoot a max of 300 yards. Is what I'm hoping for. Now before someone chimes in on ethics, or their prowess as a shooter/hunter stop. Looking for best scope/gun combo to shoot accurately at 300. Thanks.

I have the following leupolds a vx2 3-9x40 a vx-iii 2.5-8x36 a vx3 3.5-10x40 a m8 6x36 and fx ii 6x36. My favorites are the vx2 3-9x40 and the fixed 6x36's. I probably wouldn't go lower than 6 power on the upper end for 300 yds, for hunting it's fine, but at the range it sure doesn't feel like alot of magnification.

Really jealous of your gun by the way, you beat me to it by an hour. Congrats on a beauty!

I have a leupold 3-9x40 on mine. If I was planning on that long distance, I wouldn't hesitate to go to 10 or 12 power. As mentioned, you can't hit what you can't see. 12 helps you see better than 9 out there. I know Vortex has some good deals lately also on some of the higher power scopes.

I don't need it all the time, but one spot I hunt is 300 to the refuge boundry. It would be nice to have a aiming point instead of using hold over. Like the idea of the saber reticle, but wish they had it in a 4-16 or something like that.

I don't need it all the time, but one spot I hunt is 300 to the refuge boundry. It would be nice to have a aiming point instead of using hold over. Like the idea of the saber reticle, but wish they had it in a 4-16 or something like that.