.50 cal mold equivalent to Hornady PA Comical bullet?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

10ring1

Reaction score
I am new to casting and have so.e equipment and going to get started. I love the PA conical from Hornady in my flintlocks and inline for Pa/MD hunting. Shots mostly less than 100 yds .

Anyone know of a Lyman/Accurate mould that is similar?

This is the Pennsylvania conical bullet I am referring to. 240 grains

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1002235363?pid=730932

Noone? Ok next question. If I order a custom mould , can I have a mould made for this exact bullet? Would their be any copyright issues with the mould maker?

Accurate Molds cannot do anything like that. That Cupped/Hollow Base will be your Problem, You will have to go through a Mold Maker like Brooks Tru-Bore that will do a Custom Nose Pour. These Molds are EXPENSIVE and can be EXTREMELY finicky to Cast from.

Those little Bullets are Swaged, they are NOT Cast. Another problem will be the Knurling on the Sides for Lube, instead of Lube Grooves. I’m not saying it can’t be done, But if you can find someone to do it? Be prepared to Pay a Pretty Penny

I like to shoot what I like to shoot and I honor your decision to do the same, but 52bore has a valid reply. What do you expect to gain with a short conical?????? Lot of expense. The 60 grains is almost meaningless if the bullet is well placed.

Just to let you know I tried to do the same to extend the range of my .50 sidelock years ago. Went in a circle until I came back to a PRB. I did try wheel weight PRB for a while to see if I could get some difference but basically there was none. At least that I could notice.