Advice needed, new to inline rifles

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Keone

Reaction score
Aloha! I am a senior on a fixed income living in Honolulu. I shoot traditional black powder rifles. A few months back I had purchased a Thompson Center Encore magnum XT 50 cal. I wish to try shooting Hornady .490 round ball or conicals mainly because I can not afford to shoot sabots. I normally shoot 15-20 rounds every week. I enjoy shooting round ball and it is something I can afford to shoot. i Have no experience with on line rifles. I assume like in traditional blackpowder I use a wet/lubed patch for round ball and a lubed felt wad for conical?
My target load for Hornady .50 and .54 round ball is 60 gr FFg. The encore is rated for 150 gr.
what is a good starting load or target load? Thank you in advance for any assistance or advice you have to offer. i would appreciate any advice on loads, bullets or tips. It’s like stepping into another dimension like computers, for me. I am old and slow and trying to figure it out. i have not fired the rifle yet. Thanks.

Welcome, I have some thoughts but there are other more experiences with shooting PRB out of an inline. They will chime in. Its 6am here in EST. May take them a little time to get the coffee going. But they will be here. Enjoy

Welcome from Oklahoma. I'm up early as we have some serious thunderstorms rolling through now. Looks like the 4th of July out there with all the lightning 🌩.
60 grains of powder with the patched ball should be good. You could go up or down a bit until you find an accurate load.
I have a CVA Optima V2 pistol that shoots a .490 ball surprisingly well with 60 grains [V] of 3f black powder.

Welcome. That's a nice rifle. How many do you have?

Welcome. That's a nice rifle. How many do you have?