Another New One

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marky-D

Reaction score
Hi all--

I've been lurking for a while, learning as much as I can, as I am new to muzzleloading.

I am a proud owner of a White Whitetail. I haven't had a chance to fire it yet, but I have a couple questions I was hoping to get some help with.

First is the sights. I'd like to put a peep on it, and I've read endless threads on Lyman and Williams, etc. I've decided to go with the Williams WGRS model (I'd like to keep it lower profile than the 57 or the FP), but my understanding is that they don't make one specifically for White rifles anymore. Looking at the specs, it appears the 'CVA ROUND RECEIVER' model has the appropriate 0.86" hole spacing. The Williams website indicates it's for a 1" diameter receiver, but the Brownell's site says it's 7/8". Mine measures 1.12". Worst case, I figure some 400-grit sandpaper around a dowel ought to fix that up. Anyone have a better option?

Alternatively, I was wondering what you guys think about just using ONE screw to mount the WGRS. I have seen front sights mounted that way, but perhaps not dealing with as much mass or recoil. If one screw is sufficient, my mounting options expand a lot and I don't need to worry about hole spacing -- I can just find a model with the appropriate diameter.

Now on to the front sight. The bead currently on the rifle is partly broken, so I planned to replace it even if I didn't replace the rear sight. Based on my calculations, I think I will need a 0.450" tall bead to go with the WGRS (actually even a little taller, but that's the tallest I found). Does that agree with what others have seen? I doubt I'm the first to put a WGRS sight on a Whitetail!