Are 209 primers....

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tomme boy

Reaction score
I have been shooting BP rifles since 1984. I have had numerous TC and CVA guns over the years. But none have ever used 209 primers.

Right now I have a TC System 1 in 50 cal. I made a new bolt out of SS and affixed a pin to the face of the bolt. I bought a 209 nipple for this to convert it over to the 209 system. I also parted off the QLA and put a nice crown on the barrel.

I have seen that some say that 209 primers can unseat the bullet before the charge goes off. Is this really a thing? Does a regular 209 cause accuracy issues? I have always used a musket cap in the past on this gun. But since CCI stopped making the good musket caps I have finally used up my stash of them. That is why I converted this gun over to 209.

I have not fired this yet. So I might have to adjust the pin length if it blanks a primer. I have all kinds of different 209 primers all the way back to 57 and 97 type of primers. What I have the most of is win209 followed by fed 209A. I am going to stick with the Win209 as I have the most. Almost 4000 of them. I don't load much shotgun anymore.

Anyway, I am hopefully going to get out this coming week to test the gun and new bullets. I ordered a new mold from Accurate with 2 different designs. Well more like 2 weights. They are extremely close in features. Plus I have both the Lee REAL molds and a TC 370gr Maxiball. I have powder weighed out in different charges for each of these bullets. It may take a few trips to shoot all of them. And I have not shot it since taking off the QLA so this is going to be like a whole new gun for me. And a new scope! Well new to me anyway. A old school 3-9 Redfield with the wide angle TV view.

So has anyone seen this with 209 primers and had to go to the "muzzle loader" 209's?