Ballistic Help

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

e_stallman

Reaction score
I am still very new to muzzleloading, only been shooting for a year now. I have a question about the Hornady Ballistic Calculator. I am shooting a .45 cal .452 300 gr XTP in Harvester crush rib sabots with 150 gr white hot pellets. My gun is a .50 cal CVA Mt rifle. I have a Bushnell trophy DOA 250 mounted on it. It shoots very well and I am getting 1" groups at 100 yards off my lead sled. I feel like after a year of trying things this is the set up I like best. Now I want to see my ballistics.

My question is how do I come up with my Ballistics for my set up? A key number for entering the data is the "Velocity". I do not know where to find it at.

Thank for any help!!

e_stallman said:
I am still very new to muzzleloading, only been shooting for a year now. I have a question about the Hornady Ballistic Calculator. I am shooting a .45 cal .452 300 gr XTP in Harvester crush rib sabots with 150 gr white hot pellets. My gun is a .50 cal CVA Mt rifle. I have a Bushnell trophy DOA 250 mounted on it. It shoots very well and I am getting 1" groups at 100 yards off my lead sled. I feel like after a year of trying things this is the set up I like best. Now I want to see my ballistics.

My question is how do I come up with my Ballistics for my set up? A key number for entering the data is the "Velocity". I do not know where to find it at.

Thank for any help!!
Your load should be in the neighborhood of 2050 FPS + or -.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

If a chrono is not in your future, you could sight in dead-on at 100yds then shoot at 200yds with the same POA, measure the distance between the two groups and work the ballistics program backwards. If you dig thru the internet, you may find some velocity readings to see if your close.

e_stallman said: