Broke down and Bought a CVA Wolf

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave19113

Reaction score
I have been shooting my CVA Optima and TC Encore now for a few years with great success. I dont shoot the hottest load, 70 grs of BH 209 over a green Harvester Crush rib and a 300 gr Missouri pinbuster hard cast. At 100 yards I can regularly shoot 1" 3 shot at 100 yards and more often than not get sub minute with letting barrel cool between shots.

Even though I had two great shooting ML's I kept seeing the CVA Wolf at Walmart. Well last week they had it marked down from 169.00 to 159.00 so I figured why not. I ordered a new plug for the BH209 but other than that Im good to go. After sighting in I took it out to 100yds and was able to shoot right at 100 yd 3 shot groups.

I hunt the eastern woods so shots over 100 yds are uncommon, with 50-75 more the norm. Now Id love to buy a Knight Mountaineer or Disc but cant justify the extra $$.

Id like to hear feed back from the Eastern woods hunters. Is buying a higher end ML only really needed if you want the nicer woods/polymers or shooting at really extended ranges? Or can I not expect to get a long life out of the more budget priced ML's even having them well kept?

Where in Eastern woods are you? I'm in western VA.

I don't see the need for any other rifle than what you already have...If it kills deer what else can you ask for?

toytruck said:

I don't see the need for any other rifle than what you already have...If it kills deer what else can you ask for?

Im in Stafford, I hunt Quantico , CF Phelps and take some trips to MD here and there.

1874sharpsshooter said:
toytruck said:

There is always a need for more :)

Lol so true.... I was just interested to hear what people's thoughts are on what draw backs going with the more affordable priced Ml's