Colorado moose

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mulesonly

Reaction score
I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I have been shooting muzzleloaders for around 25 years and have taken some elk over the years. I currently have a renegade 54. Cal. I was fortunate to draw a moose license this year so I was thinking of upgrading my gun. Considering Colorado does not allow scoped rifles for muzzle loading, so I’m looking for recommendations for a new gun and appropriate bullets for moose/elk. I liked the new Paramount Pro, Accura lx-r or the Rememington, but can I utilize the extra distances it shoots with no scope. Looking for help. Thanks

Rice can make you a nice fast twist barrel for that Renny. Something like a 50cal 1-24 will shoot big conicals as well as any inline in no scope hunts.

Killed a bull moose here in Colorado with my .54 Renegade and 105 grains of 2f behind a 430 gr. maxiball in '96. One shot through the chest at 85 paces. I would not stress on not having a scope, because due to the nature of the beast, you can get pretty close. Most moose kills I know of have been inside of 35 yards, mostly with center fire rifles that were not magnums (.270 and 30-06). A friend took a bull last season with a TC Impact, 100 grains T7, and a 325 gr. FPB at 30 yards. In general, any heavy conical will work well. I prefer a fiber optic front sight and ghost ring rear for irons here in Colorado.
Congratulations on drawing the tag, what unit is it in? How long did you have to wait? I would definitely use it as an excuse to get a new rifle. Just remember the caliber restrictions, .50 or bigger for moose, .54 or bigger if using a roundball. Also keep in mind that most inlines do not come with iron sights these days.