Constant misfires

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjcox

Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading and bought my first inline last month a CVA Optima V2. I have shot it a couple times now and both times I have gotten many misfires. This last time I tried a couple caps after the initial misfire and decided to punch the load out as it would not fire.
I am using the following: Hornady Great Plains conicals, pyrodex rs powder, rws 1081 musket caps.
The caps are firing each time. Here is my procedure, I am sure I am doing something that is causing it.
After each shot I swab with a patch that is lightly coated in 25%ballistol/75%water then 2 dry patches. Fire one cap, then load 90gr powder and conical. After every 3rd shot I pull the breech plug and give it a good cleaning to include nipple and flash hole on face. It seems that I get the misfires on the second or third shots prior to cleaning breech plug and I was thinking that possibly moisture from the first patch was gunking up the flash hole but wouldn't the firing of a cap clear and dry it?? I am at a loss and very frustrated as I can't make it more than 5 shots without a misfire. Thanks for your help and advice.

17 looks at your new thread and nobody has helped you yet......

You should not have to pull the breechplug, even after 10-15 shots.
Change your nipple and do a Google search on "hot nipples". If powder is from last year and beyond, change your powder also. It may be contaminated with moisture. Change your cleaning solution at the range to 70% rubbing alcohol and use an empty small spray bottle that we often see in sample racks of supermarkets, for a nice small, wide spray pattern on your patches.