CVA guys

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chick

Reaction score
What are the advantages / disadvantages of the old style vs the new style receiver opening on the Accura and Optima models? Any idea why they changed the design?

I own an Optima V2 in pistol and rifle never owned any other CVA's, but from what I have read the older design, like the wolf, have a flaw in that they tend to open by themselves after being fired. I can't say for sure never owned one. I really didn't care for the front lever open system either, looks like it would be easy to get bumped or caught in brush while hunting too.

The old style Accura opened the same as the new style. Me, i have no experience shooting the different styles, but in the store, i don't like the way the old Optima, or Wolf operate. One thing i do know is the old style breech plug is a way more durable than the new style. Several of the new ones sent me to work on, have arrived damaged in the mail.

Personally I think TC was selling a ton of guns at the time. With almost every tv hunting show shooting a TC Encore. CVA borrowed the idea to make the guns look and work better. Just like QLA and then the quick release breach plug.

I meant work better than the old style CVA. A CVA will never be a TC Prohunter. The TC Prohunter has a whole lot higher tolerances than any CVA gun does. That’s why you can switch barrels and that’s why a Prohunter frame costs as much as a CVA gun does. CVA makes a great gun for the money but it’s not a TC atleast in my opinion. That’s why they sell at a lot lower price point.

Or no