CVA WOLF - Hornady SST - ML

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Muzzy2002

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to muzzle loaders and am trying some different loads and was looking for some pointers. I Have had a muzzle loader before but really brief and didn't get to shoot it much, i had to sell it due to hard times, which I regret doing as I should have never sold guns. I just picked up a nice CVA Wolf and I love it. Shoots well and is easy to work on. So, when I had my last muzzleloader (Thompson Center Impact) I was using triple 7 50/50 pellets, Remington 209 primers, and .50 power belts (250gr) and when I got this new CVA I didn't get anything with it for ammo, so my buddy let me try some TC Shockwave 250gr and they seem to work well. I'm using CCI magnum primers, hodgdon 50/50 pellets. ( I also have some hodgdon FFG loose powder that I have yet to try). Should I be using the loose powder instead of the pellets? So I'm out of ammo, so I ordered these Hornady SST-ML .50 sabots to try, they were pretty well priced and thought I'd give them a try. Haven't tried them yet but was wondering if anyone has had any luck with these or if they've heard any good things about them? Due to me being new to the sport, I'm looking for any suggestions and I appreciate any help I can get. Here's a link to the ammo I bought. Any help would be gladly appreciated.. Thanks.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/278052 ... -box-of-20

I used the 300gr SST and it put a fist size hole in the deer. My uncle uses the 250gr and they drop deer good as well

Loose powder allows you to dial in your loads compared to pellets that dont give you much options. That said same uncle uses two of those 777 pellets and has good results.