Cva wolf scoped model / sighted model

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Half-Cocked

Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloaders and I want to purchase a CVA wolf.

I noticed that there are some different models including stainless steel vs. Blued barrels.

I also noticed that there's a different option in whether it comes with a scope mount or iron sights.

I don't like the scope mounts it's included because it seems like it mounts to the barrel straight into rings rather than a picatinny rail.

My question is if I purchase the one that comes with the iron sights can I later take them off and purchase an aftermarket CVA to picatinny rail.

also if I'm not going to fire this gun often should I spend the extra 30 bucks for the stainless steel barrel? Is it the barrel material that's different or the outside that's different? I understand that the purpose of the stainless steel is corrosion resistance but if the inside of the barrel is made of the same material which is being exposed to the most of the powder will it really matter?

Looks like the Wolf is also offered with a Nitride finish on a stainless steel barrel. All Wolf models are drilled and tapped for scope mounts. The stainless steel models are solid stainless steel barrels, no coating to make them look like stainless steel.

The one piece base and ring from CVA works but I too prefer a more robust setup. I like steel bases and rings.

I bought the one with the scope mounts and it came loose. I tightened it all back up and added a few drops of nail polish and have had no problems since. I also have the SS model but I keep it very clean so am not sure about any corrosion or such. I like mine a lot and get 3 inch groups out of most anything i shoot at 100 yards. I have a Knight Bighorn being delivered soon. Hope to get better groups out of it