Favorite Mold Material? (Aluminum, Steel, Brass)

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Idaholewis

Reaction score
As the subject says, What is your favorite Mold Material? Aluminum, Iron/Steel, or Brass, And why?

I have no experience with Brass so can’t comment there. My molds are Steel, and Aluminum, Of the 2 i MUCH MUCH prefer my steel molds, They are MUCH more durable, and forgiving. You can literally destroy an Aluminum mold from Galling etc. and it doesn’t take that long to do, this is definitely the Casters fault, but everybody has to start somewhere, starting out you definitely don’t know everything, in many cases you know nothing about it at all. I feel the extra cost of a Steel mold is WELL worth it, an Iron/Steel mold is MUCH more forgiving to the beginner Caster, but also cost more.

My feelings as well. I know people love their Aluminum and Brass molds, but I feel the Iron/Steel molds are more forgiving and durable. As long as you clean/oil them when you put them away, they should last you a lifetime. One thing I do is after I coat mine with oil, I put them in a zip lock bag. This prevents any dust/dirt from attaching to the mold due to the oil. Naturally the oil prevents rust from forming on the mold.

edmehlig said:
My feelings as well. I know people love their Aluminum and Brass molds, but I feel the Iron/Steel molds are more forgiving and durable. As long as you clean/oil them when you put them away, they should last you a lifetime. One thing I do is after I coat mine with oil, I put them in a zip lock bag. This prevents any dust/dirt from attaching to the mold due to the oil. Naturally the oil prevents rust from forming on the mold.