Greetings from Minnesota

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DougK

Reaction score
Hey guys. Total newbie from MN here. I would like to get into muzzle loading and hunting with a muzzle loader. I don't have anything yet, but I have pretty much decided on a TC Encore Pro Hunter.

As for me, I am currently a student at NDSU in Fargo, ND; eagerly anticipating graduation in December. From there I hope to find a job in the Minneapolis-St Paul area.

Welcome to the board!
I continue to see the Pro Hunter 28" for $699.99 at Sportsman's Warehouse. Without knowing why you selected it, I would only add that it is a great choice and hope you at least considered the Savage.

Best regards - Cob

Welcome Doug, good to have you here. I can't comment on your choice of a muzzle loader. I got involved in muzzleloading a few years ago to take advantage of the earlier and warmer hunting season here, and soon tired of the constant cleaning. That's why I now shooting a Savage. Just keep the Savage in mind. Lots of advice here on both rifles.

Well, the reason I chose the Encore is because it is convertable to a rifle, shotgun, and pistol. However, I am not married to the decision, so if you can give me a good enough reason why one is better than the other, I would definately look into it.

Doug,

My personal preference (I emphasize preference) is to go with the purpose-built item. Of course I still have a TC Contender pistol. If you are going to buy into the TC line, this is sure a good way to do it.

I also really enjoy ML guns that aren't legally "firearms". The TC Omega Z7 I just got doesn't rquire an FFL, and FredX just delivered it.

jim

Doug, I don't know if my reasons are good enough for you but they were for me. No cleaning after every shooting session. No stink and no big cloud of smoke. Great accuracy, is also a bonus.

HunterJim said:
Doug,