Happy to get into SL MLs but not sure about....

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ziva

Reaction score
Hey there,

First of all, great forum, discussions and people out there!

I started shooting with airrifles, like XP Airguns, extremebigboreairrifles etc. and then under supervision with a Rem 700 .308.

Doing all of this in Czech Republic, as I'm visiting my parents in law frequently there.

Due to restrictions, I decided to start with BP ML, which was a Vortek .50. Those weapons are allowed over here without license, which makes it interesting for me to start with MLs.

Sold the Vortek, as it was poor quality and a pain to clean BPs. Reading a lot on the web, got more and more interested in the smokeless stuff.
Fast figuring out that there is lot of stuff available but not really off the shelf.

Therefore my question to you out here...

I'm definitely willing to invest in a good quality smokeless ML rifle but the range is 1.000 bugs up with "open limits".

I cannot judge, if a custom built rifle for 3.000+ is necessary or even worth it. Again, I'm not questioning the work of the custom builders but for sure, don't want to spend too much, when they are calling this high amount of $$$ and if that's not necessary.

I'm very impressed about the high quality, as the custom builds look like, which I saw.

I'm looking for an accurate and good quality smokeless rifle to be used on the range only. No hunting. Range around 350 yards.

What do you suggest and think about rifles from

1. Jeff Hankins
  2. Arrowhead
  3. NULA
  4. BeStill
  5. Swinglock
  6. Badbullmuzzleloaders
  7. Ultimatefirearms
  8. Bearcreekballistics
  9. Gunwerks
  10. CBJ
  11. Kash ML750 action
  12. ...
Maybe there are way more custom builders out there, which I'm not aware of. At least those listed, I found during my research.