Heritage single action revolver possible issue?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Half-Cocked

Reaction score
Hi everyone recently I purchased a heritage revolver in addition to another gun that I was actually there to purchase.

The heritage was on sale it was chambered in 22 and it looked like a fun little plinker so I figured why not.

I'm relatively new to revolvers but I understand the importance of them being locked into place once fully cocked.

I also own a pieta and cap and ball revolver. When I take my pieta into a full cocked fire ready position there is absolutely no movement of the cylinder.

However on the heritage revolver there is a little bit of side to side play fully cocked. To show you the extent of the movement I've created a YouTube video on my channel. have a look and tell me what you think and the last thing that I want is this thing blowing up in my hands potentially injuring myself or other people at the range.

It may be normal for a revolver especially if this caliber I just don't have enough experience with the revolvers and that's why I am deferring to the community here.

please take a quick look at the video below by clicking the link and let me know what you think. is it worthy of warranty repair?

Hertige revolver with possible issues?

Pull the trigger, it should decrease movement.

Thank you for the promt response.

I went ahead and took out the rounds and dropped the safety to the fire position allowing the hammer to fall fully onto the firing pin.

While the hammer is rested on the firing pin as though it has been fired I still experience the same amount of movement.

So far I put about 50 rounds through it and haven't had an issue. Still a little concerning that the cylinder moves that much.