Hope I did ok

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PACharlie

Reaction score
First off I’m brand new to Muzzleloaders and this forum. I’ve been very impressed and thankful for the vast knowledge freely given here, thanks. I just made a purchase on an in-line setup through Muzzleloaders.com, a CVA V2 and a leapold freedom scope, originally I wanted to use a vortex viper XBR on this gun but went for the scope as well. Lol did I do the right thing buying the scope and not using what I had collecting dust?

I’ve read up on this gun here and It looks like I’m starting out with BH209 and 209 caps along with powerbelt Aerolite 250s. Does this sound like a good start ? I would rather not deal with the plastic left behind from a sabot if possible so I figured to start here, if you guys think otherwise please let me know thanks for the help

Who says sabots leave plastic? CVA...well of course they say that. They want to sell $2 a piece Powerbelts. Betcha that skirt on the PB is made of plastic also. Ive never seen this mythical sabot fouling that makes it impossible to load multiple shots. I have range sessions pushing 40 shots or more and all were sabots. Oddly i could load every single one just as easily as the first.

I have rifles that will shoot sabots far faster than you will ever shoot them. Yet they still dont leave this mythical residue that makes it hard or impossible to load.

I’m just going on what I’ve heard and read, I’m asking for suggestions and advise, actually I saw cva made the rounds and thought they were engineered for the barrel. But I posted this to try to get some feedback and direction.