How much pitting is too much?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

demersj0

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a Buckmaster .50 muzzleloader that I haven't used in many years. I'm nostalgic about it and want to keep it serviceable. I am defining serviceable as a loaner gun to a first time hunting partner or something I can shoot at the range a few times a year. I'm sure the accuracy will have declined if/when I shoot it again.

My question is more on safety. I started cleaning out the inside of the barrel a few days ago. It keeps looking better and better after a hot water and soap treatment, some CLP work, some brushing. It's gone from looking gnarly to I can see the rifling and there is some shine inside - but I can also see spots that I'm assuming are pitting.

At the breech, I was able to get the plug out with vice grips and have ordered a replacement just to have it on hand.

Some questions come to mind - and thanks i advance.

1) Should I be worried about the pitting from a safety perspective or am I overthinking it?
2) Is there anything I can do to treat the pitting. I was looking at JB bore paste but it's not currently available anywhere
3) What should I shoot to mitigate the pitting issues? It seems like patched balls would be the worse
4) Would you shoot the gun

Some minor pitting may or may not affect the accuracy. You'll see after you get the gun all set to shoot again.
If it's bad, you can possibly get the barrel bored out.

I think the barrel would have to be darned rough to be a safety issue, accuracy may be another issue if its that bad. Honestly it doesn't sound as though its to that point yet.