Howdy from Texas, Homemade black powder!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

751510shooter

Reaction score
How are yall doin? This muzzleloading business is my newest hobby, Ive been perfectin the dark art of making my own charcoal and blackpowder with said charcoal, for months now. This was originally for fireworks, but I found shooting it was much more efficient and legal so long as im at the range or hunting. I shoot a Traditions Pursuit Accelerator and Im just beginning to see better groups, I started with sabots and am now moving into using 250 grain aerolite powerbelts. I haven't shot them yet, but with any luck I will be able to nail down some tight groups at 100 yards, thus far ive only managed one bullseye and a group of 3-4 inches at 50 yards. I do shoot triple 7 when if I want to use commercial powder.

Thanks, and im open to any advice, as im new to the shooting part of black powder!!!

Howdy,

What kind of groups do u get with the T7? At 50 yds with that rifle and sabots, those are so-so groups.. Do u swab with a wet patch and dry patch between shots?

Some day, I want to hunt hogs in Texas with my bow and muzzy :D

I clean pretty thouroughly between shots, with a spit swab and a dry swab, if its really dirty I use the wire brush. Those groups suck in my opinion, I want a 2 inch group at 100 yards. I think im using to big of loads of black powder, I use Max loads every time. I think ill drop it to 100 grains next trip. Alot of people swear by using blackhorn 209, which im sure works the best, im sure its fantastic, but then again so is an AR15, you see, that would defeat the purpose of shooting a black powder firearm to me. Im all about black powder, the real thing. My own hand crafted powder. Thats my constant, the only variables will be everything else ;)

751510shooter,

Welcome to the Forum!