Ignition...#11, Musket & 209???

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been dabbling in the Muzzleloader world for 25+ years...I started with a TC Renegade, then a CVA Apollo, a Winchester X150, an Austin Halleck, a Pedersolli/Cabelas in-line and now the Knight Disc Original. There have been a few repeats and others. But during this time of playing with MLs, I have used all 3 of the systems I listed. The Knight uses the 209 primer and I set the Renegade up to take a musket cap.

My point is that I have never had a failure with any of the 3 ignition sources...to be clear, I have only hunted with the Knight with the 209...And I have never shot in damp conditions and Every ML shot for me has been in Colorado, a fairly dry climate.

One of the reasons I stayed clear of the Muzzleloader was because people told me that the ignition was hit or miss and really un-reliable. This has not been the case in my experience...I wish I had taken Muzzleloaders more serious years ago...There were many times that I was out scouting and saw animals, that could have been taken with a Muzzleloader, but I wasn't even packing a rifle because it was Muzzleloader season...most times I was packing a shotgun for grouse...and then during rifle season, nothing and Tag-Soup for the season...

So...are the 209 primers really that much more reliable than the #11 and Musket caps or were friends and family just uninformed?