Knight Hawkeye stainless laminated stock

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Swamper

Reaction score
I am new to blackpowder but have acquired one of the above guns without an owners manual. Recommended loads, bullets primers or caps. I want to start shooting it but want to do so safely. Any info will help. Thanks Doug

Had trouble posting a picture. This is not my gun. I am not home right now but mine is the same minus the scope mounts. Mine has adjustable sights.

Without knowing what breech plug you have it's hard to say if you need a 209 primer or # 11 cap.
Triple seven or pyrodex is a popular propellant as is BH 209.
I'd say start with about 40 grains of powder. There are numerous bullet choices out there. Something like 250 to 300 grains to start with.

I will most likely pick up some of the 777 powder. I am also wondering if any of the pyrodex pellets would work. I get home in about a week and will pick up the necessary supplies at that time. Thanks for the advice received. Doug

I will most likely pick up some of the 777 powder. I am also wondering if any of the pyrodex pellets would work. I get home in about a week and will pick up the necessary supplies at that time. Thanks for the advice received. Doug

Anything should work fine in it, from real black to T7, pellets or powder.