Looking for a new 45 ML, suggestions?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys, not new to the muzzle loading world but new to the site, (love to read the knowledge and info on here) I've been hunting with them for over 30 years, I own several but all in 50 cal. I've been looking for a 45 for a while, suggestions? Smokeless or BP? Whats your thoughts and favorite ML in 45, looking at new and older. Thanks for any help and Happy Thanksgiving!

My .451 Super 91 is my favorite go to deer killing muzzleloader. I take it out first every season for freezer filling.
If you can find any White in .451 I highly recommend them!
Just noticed this is the smokeless section. White's are not capable of smokeless powder! FYI

Last edited:
A smokeless capeable CVA Scout or Hunter brake action conversion can be had for 1k and under depending on what you need or want with the rifle. They are a very a easy 300+ yd shooter providing skills equal to the task.

I'm open to suggestions and wanting to hear what you guys like or dislike. Heck if someone has a nice 45 for sale, let me know.

Last edited:
I'm open to suggestions and wanting to hear what you guys like or dislike. Heck if someone has a nice 45 for sale, let me know.
If youre looking for a smokeless, no. But i do have a TC Black Diamond Super 45 XR that Im going to sell. Probably the best trigger of every gun that i have. Its currently a #11 setup. But i have a 209 conversion for it as well, unopened.