Loose Powder Recommendations and Why...

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GerryS

Reaction score
I recently purchased a CVA Accura Mountain Rifle as my first muzzle loader. Note that I said first... :)

I am currently using IMR White Hots to get use to the loading and cleaning process with the intention to move to loose powder after I have used all of my pellets. I am a center-fire cartridge reloader so I will be tweaking accuracy with loose powder (an option you don't have with pellets). I am looking for feedback regarding experienced users' choice of loose powder and why they have settled for that particular type/brand.

I have a CVA Wolf. I too am a center fire cartridge loader. I started with loose for the same reason and the loose is less expensive. I used 777 with a variety of bullets. I started shooting groups with 80 grains and increased in increments of 10 grains. I got to 100 grains and the groups closed up to 1-1/2 inches at 120 yards. One bullets used was GT Bullets 255 grain .429 with a green MMP sabot. Another was GT Bullets 305 grain grain .429 with green MMP sabot. I stopped there because what else do I need??? The GT Bullets have huge hollow points. Im thinking these will be great for deer. I also had good results (2" groups) PR Bullet ultimate 1 conical in 450 grain. I then read CVA manual where they limit the wolf to 400 grains so have since quit shooting those. I do have some PR bullets .400 260 grain Extreme Elites. They shoot the same 1 1/2 inch at 120 yards. Velocity over a chrony for the 305 grain was 1779at 15 yards from the chrony. Hope that help.

Blackhorn 209 is my choice because it is the best black powder sub available for several reasons. Using it in a CVA requires a BH209 breech plug or modification to the stock breech plug but it is well worth it, IMO.