Melted or stuck gun powder

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muzzlestuffer

Reaction score
I was reloading in my shop and left a hopper of gun powder in my hornaday dispenser and a couple days later I emptied to change powder but there are hundreds of granules of powder stuck on everything inside and I can't remove even with a brush anyone ever hear of this before ?

Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk

Sorry wrong venue if you can move this I appreciate it.

Ive been reloading since 1965 and never encountered that. Contact Horndy, they need to know. They should take care of it for you, for free. Good luck!

Sent from my ME301T using Tapatalk

Sounds like static. Grab a dryer sheet with a forceps and run it up and down and around in the hopper and see if that doesn't help.

Re: RE: Re: Melted or stuck gun powder

MrTom said:
Sounds like static. Grab a dryer sheet with a forceps and run it up and down and around in the hopper and see if that doesn't help.
No I can't even scrub it off with a brush !! I'll go get a pic.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Melted or stuck gun powder

muzzlestuffer said:
MrTom said:
No I can't even scrub it off with a brush !! I'll go get a pic.

Here's a couple pics I actually can scrub really hard with my finger nail but not sure how I'll get down inside the trickler area ?? Will have to experiment some !
7ec256f79f7e1c970c530016d6012daa.jpg
a5af6c7718bf851921b7ff57c7045ed6.jpg

herschel conyers said:
Ive been reloading since 1965 and never encountered that. Contact Horndy, they need to know. They should take care of it for you, for free. Good luck!

It's pretty hot here in az so I'm sure that had something to do with it ?