Need a new nipple

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sealer

Reaction score
I am having trouble finding a new nipple for my Knight MK85. It is 1/4 x 28.
The big question is are the other nipple manufacturer's nipples the same length ? i.e. CVA, T/C, Traditions
TIA, Dennis

With the AMPCO you will probably need to drill the flash hole out to .031. The AMPCO is more or less built for real BP.

The Lehigh works well.

11-Composite2.jpg

But are they the same length ?
Or will a small difference in length matter ?
Dennis

Won't matter a bit. The Tresco/ Ampco nipples are the best! They don't peen or ding up your striker face, are at least as long lasting as stainless and don't wear the threads in your breechplug. I've seen some stainless and carbon steel nipples with rough threads...
I've been using these nipples exclusively for 15 years with no complaints at all. I get about 400 shots before replacement.

I shoot the DAYLIGHTS out of Treso/Ampco Nipples, They are the Most Durable nipple i have used, Besides Platinum lined of Course.

The Treso/Ampcos have Tiny .028 Flash Holes, i actually get .027 with my “Cheap” Pin Gauges, This tiny Flash Hole works STELLAR with Swiss Real Blackpowder (Which is All i use) I can get the Treso/Ampco nipples from BACO (Buffalo Arms Co.) for under 5 Bucks a Piece. As Sabotloader said, With Substitute Powders you would need to Drill the Flash Hole out to .031 for Reliable Ignition.