New CVA Optima suggestions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treetop01

Reaction score
I just purchased a CVA Optima combo, from what I have read the gun seems to be a good choice. I will most likely replace the scope at a later date but I will give it a go for this upcoming season. My main question is I am new to inline guns after many years of round ball PA flintlock hunting. The modern loads, bullets, primers and powder are all new for me. From what I have read it seems the suggestion is to start by getting a BH breech plug and use the 209 shotgun primers, I found the breech plug online and it seems the stores around here have limited stock so I am thinking I should just order the rest of what I need online also. I would appreciate any help and guidance that can be given. Thank you TT

Great to see you joined the forum. This is the best place to get advice. The guys on the forum have helped me tremendously. You did indeed make a good choice with the Optima. It will shoot a variety of loads very well. 290 grn Barnes tez. 300 grn Hornady xtp. I shoot the xtp with a harvester short smooth black sabot. The tez with supplied sabot. 100 grns black horn.

My kids have the same weapon, the load they shoot is BH209 110 grains by volume, and a 250gr hornady sst, we started with T7 pellets but have changed to BH209, previously with pellets we used 3 pellets and the 250gr hornady sst they shot 2 deer last year one at 80yrd and the other at 130yrd, the only kill with the optima after changing to BH209 was a coyote at 223yrd good luck

I have an Optima V2 and I am starting my third season hunting with it.
I find it to be very accurate and not bad to carry into the woods.
I use 110 grains do blackhorn 209 and 300 grain scorpion pt gold bullet in the crushed rib sabot.