New from MN

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Silenus

Reaction score
Hello all,

New guy from the MN Metro area here. I'm completely new to Muzzleloading, but not to shooting or hunting. I currently do not have any muzzleloading tackle, aside from anything that might carry over from shotgunning or rifle shooting.

I am primarily interested in muzzleloader hunting. To me, the main draw is the later season with fewer hunters in the woods (I stay out of the public woods during the firearms season), however I also have access to private property that is very open, very flat farmland which is unfortunately just on the "wrong" side of the rifle line here in MN. 2-300 yard shots would definitely be possible in the right place, and I know that modern inlines fall somewhere between a high powered rifle and a shotgun in terms of range.

I am open to pretty much any brand. Two possibilities that I have my eye on are the Remington Ultimate Muzzleloader and the T/C Encore Pro Hunter (FX). That being said, I'd be open to other options as well.

Welcome to the group, from central Indiana.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Welcome from another fellow Minnesotan. Where about a is this hunting land? I live about 5 miles into the rifle zone but split my time hunting both zones. A good accurate muzzleloader is pretty versatile in this state.

It's in northern clay county, in the Red River Valley. So the terrain is very flat.

There is a good sized pond on the property which may or may not hold deer. I do know that when the crops come down when the farmer is growing corn, there are often tons of deer that come out. I might just have to give it a shot during the early archery season in the future, especially if I can time it with the harvest.