new guy

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoner

Reaction score
hi, I'm Mike and i'm new to muzzleloading. I'm 62 yrs old,retired, and reside in San Diego CA. I also own and maintain a place in Apache JUnction AZ. I've been shooting and reloading smokeless cartridge ammo most of my life and just recently(kind of on a whim) bought a used CVA Mountain Rifle sidelock in like new condition, .54 caliber. The bore is like a mirror. The old boy i bought this rifle from gave me a lb of FFG Goex unopened,a lb of Goex Pinnacle FFFg, a package of ox_yoke prelubed .018 patches, a tin of #11 caps(Remington), a nipple wrench, and some Knight BP solvent and some Knight oil. I got all this stuff,including the rifle for the grand total of $125 cash. I've also picked up some .530 round balls, slowly accumulating the stuff i need to shoot and clean this gun. My local gun club has muzzleloader competition the first Sunday every month so my plan is to attend the next shoot,see what's going on, and hopefully get someone to walk me thru loading and shooting this rifle......already learned a lot looking around this forum and glad to be here

Welcome to the camp! Nice gun. Sounds like you have everything pretty well handled, you will find most of that info in the stickies (top few posts under each thread, that remain at the top) check the new to muzzleloading section, cuyuga has a great tutorial there. enjoy!

You need to turn yourself into the police.. you stole that rifle.. :mrgreen: Wow you got a great deal. If its an old Mountain Rifle it might even have a Douglas Barrel. The CVA Mountain Rifles were great rifles. I learned to shoot on one but in .58 caliber. Just a real nice gun. Welcome to the forum. And have fun with that rifle.

Welcome to the Forum. Great to have you here!

cayuga said: