New to Black Powder revolver

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jacobsdad

Reaction score
Hello. New here. I've been hunting with Flintlocks for almost 30 years but never jumped in to the revolver world. For Fathers Day this year my son bought me a Repro 1851 .44 cal Revolver. Looks like supplies are limited these days but I think I have everything covered. Simple question/comment. Are conicles OK in revolvers? Also, using "reduced loads", does air space create a problem?

I also have reloaded smokeless powder cartridges for 30 years but am not familiar with the specifics of Black Powder. New learning curve. Thanks.

Ive had an 1858 and have 2 Ruger Old Armies. All shot/shoot rb and conicals really well. I cast my own and love shooting conicals. Not exactly sure what you mean about "air space". If you mean between powder and projectile then don't do it. If you're talking about between the projectile and the end of the cylinder the gap is no problem at all.

Welcome to the forum. I have an 1858 new army 44 caliber revolver. I really don't shoot it very much but when I do, it's only round ball. I never tried conical bullets.

miciganmuzzy. Thanks for your input. In metallic cartridges loaded with reduced loads there can be an unacceptable pressure wave in an underfilled cartridge. I suspect that this is not an issue with black powder especially considering that the cylinder is the "cartridge" and probably lower pressures, but just curious. Again, thank you for your comment..

When I shot light loads in my brass-framed replica 1860 Army .44 caliber revolver I used corn meal to fill the chambers of the cylinder up so that the ball was seated just below the mouth of the cylinder opening. That way the possibility of not seating the ball completely onto the powder charge is eliminated. This was back in the 1970's when I was a teenager.