Optima V2 pistol issue(?) Fired primers hard to remove at times.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tallbald

Reaction score
It's been several years since I've been able to shoot my beautiful black and stainless V2 pistol. At the last session however, I found myself having removal problems with the spent 209 Rios primers I was using. Shooting light to medium loads of Triple 7, with a thick waxed wool felt wad and 220 grain REAL pure lead bullets.
I actually had to carefully pry the lip of the primer up and use needle nose pliers to pull it from the primer recess. I used a jewelers loupe to examine the primer chamber and only saw a little roughness from factory machining. Reminded me of a chip scar from a chip maybe caught on a reamer used to finish size the chamber (I'm a tool and die maker by trade).
I'm wondering about carefully using 2000 grit emery cloth on a mandrel, followed by Mother's Mag Polish to lightly polish the primer chamber.
Thoughts please?
I truly enjoy this extremely accurate pistol. Shooting cloverleaf groups from a rest at 45 yards over and over is common. Scoped with a beautiful Weaver 2X pistol scope, this pistol is a fun range toy. Were I still a hunter, I have no doubt I'd harvest deer each and every season if I did my part.
Don

Last edited:
I've never used those primers but would suspect that they are a bit on the large size if you have to pry them out.
Primers like CCI or Federal are what I use. Spent ones pretty much fall out if I tip my pistol up.
I guess you could clean up a few to see if that helps.